Inverter Test System

Development is just one aspect. Just as crucial: The test strategy. In a suitable test environment. And in detail.

“The e-motor emulator forms the core of the system.”

Short set-ups. Fast results. Change the virtual motor with a mouse-click. All scenarios can be represented in detail. And successfully tested. So that insights for development are directly tangible – fast, precise, reproducible. This is what the SPS Inverter Test System stands for. It supports a parallel development process for drive inverter and e-motor.

Exhaust all possibilities. Bundle results. That is revolutionary.

While the e-motor is still under development, the inverter can already be tested in parallel. Connected to the virtual motor. With a load as if on a machine test stand. But better. Characteristics values can be derived from the e-motor’s construction data and fed into the emulator; a digital copy of the e-motor. Work can begin immediately: Inverter tests, power tests, fault scenarios. Without restrictions. Without compromise. Although the e-motor does not exist in a physical form. Crucial advantage: Early results save enormous amounts of time and costs. Test results from this early phase can be used to optimise the e-motor design. And automated tests can run day and night, based on real driving profiles of test vehicles.

Realistic emulation – this attribute is ingenious.

Since it is model-based, the emulator can emulate different e-motor types using software-based mathematical models. The specific character is obtained through configuration of the parameters. Particularly important: the correct emulation of the e-motor’s dynamic behaviour. In real-time. Extremely important for control tests or special tests: active short-circuit and cable short- circuits. And all this in the laboratory. Without mechanics. Without a dynamometer. But better. The test systems have been designed for a wide range of tests and a wide range of inverters and converters. They are hence extremely flexible. A power range from approximately 10 to more than 400 kW and voltages of more than 900 V and currents of 1,200 Arms or more can be reliably covered.

A “virtual e-motor on a virtual load system” – unbeatable for inverter tests.

As astounding as it may seem: The e-motor emulator emulates many inverter test cases more precisely than a real motor on a dynamometer could. How? All dynamometers have their own peculiarities. Limited by mechanics. Limited by control algorithms. That makes the e-motor emulator better. Extreme dynamics enables precise emulation of the original system. The dynamic response of an e-motor emulator is several powers of ten better than a mechanical load system. Since the test system does not need any rotating parts, it is ideal for system tests or end-of-line tests.

de

Inverter Test System

Entwickeln ist das Eine. Ebenso entscheidend: die Teststrategie. In der geeigneten Prüfumgebung. Und: mit Tiefgang.

„Der E-Motor-Emulator ist das Herz des Systems.“

Kurze Setups. Schnelle Resultate. Den virtuellen Motor mit Mausklick wechseln. Alle Szenarien können umfassend dargestellt werden. Und: erfolgreich getestet. Damit Rückschlüsse für die Entwicklung direkt greifen können – schnell, präzise, reproduzierbar. Dafür steht das SPS Inverter Test System. Es unterstützt den parallelen Entwicklungsprozess von Antriebsinverter und E-Maschine.

Alle Möglichkeiten ausschöpfen. Im Ergebnis bündeln. Das ist revolutionär.

Während sich der E-Motor noch in der Entwicklung befindet, kann parallel der Inverter bereits umfassend getestet werden. Angeschlossen an den virtuellen Motor. Mit einer Last wie am Maschinenprüfstand. Aber besser. Aus den Konstruktionsdaten des E-Motors lassen sich die Kenngrößen ableiten und in den Emulator einspeisen, eine digitale Kopie des E-Motors. Schon können die Invertertests beginnen, Reglertests, Leistungstests, Fehlerszenarien durchgeführt werden. Ohne Einschränkungen. Ohne Kompromisse. Obwohl der E-Motor real noch nicht existiert. Entscheidender Vorteil: Frühe Ergebnisse sparen enorm Zeit und Kosten. Nebeneffekt: In dieser frühen Phase können Testergebnisse noch für Optimierungen des E-Motor-Designs genutzt werden. Und: Automatisierte Tests können Tag und Nacht ablaufen, basierend auf realen Fahrprofilen von Testfahrzeugen.

Abbildungstreue – diese Eigenschaft ist genial.

Durch die Modellbasierung kann der Emulator verschiedene E-Motor-Typen über mathematische Modelle per Software nachbilden. Mittels Parametrierung entsteht die spezifische Eigenschaft. Besonders wichtig: das dynamische Verhalten eines realen Elektromotors richtig nachzubilden. In Echtzeit. Extrem wichtig für Regelungstests oder für Sonderprüfungen: aktiver Kurzschluss und Leitungskurzschlüsse. Und all das im Labor. Ohne Mechanik. Ohne Dynamometer. Aber: besser. Deshalb sind die Prüfsysteme für eine breite Prüfabdeckung einer großen Bandbreite von Umrichtern und Invertern konzipiert und damit äußerst flexibel ausgelegt. Ein Leistungsspektrum von etwa 10 bis mehr als 400 kW bei Spannungen von mehr als 900 V und Strömen von 1.200 ARMS oder mehr wird zuverlässig abgedeckt.

Ein „virtueller E-Motor auf einem virtuellen Lastsystem“ – für Invertertests unschlagbar.

So erstaunlich es sein mag: Der E-Motor-Emulator bildet viele Inverter-Testfälle genauer ab als der reale E-Motor auf dem Dynamometer. Warum? Alle Dynamometer haben ihr Eigenleben. Begrenzt durch Mechanik. Begrenzt durch Regelungstechnik. Das macht der E-Motor-Emulator besser. Extreme Dynamik erlaubt präzise Emulation des Originalsystems. Die Dynamik des E-Motor-Emulators ist mehrere Zehnerpotenzen jenseits aller mechanischen Lastsysteme. Weil das Testsystem ohne rotierende Teile auskommt, eignet es sich auch für Systemtests oder Tests am Bandende.

en